meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Why God Loves Google

on February 23, 2012

Want to find the answers to life’s burning questions?  Why are we here?  Why does God let bad things happen?  What is my purpose?  Why do these things keep happening to me?  What’s the meaning of life?

Here’s what you do:  Ask, Seek and Knock.

Luke 11:9-10  Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. (NIV)

“Ask and it will be given to you” is not about seeking material success.  Jesus gave this advice when he was teaching the disciples how to pray.  It’s where he introduced the Lord’s Prayer, which is not about asking for stuff.

My paraphrase for this verse goes like this:

Ask for guidance and it will be given to you; seek the truth and you will find it; knock on the door to God’s kingdom and that door will be opened.

Want to understand God better?  Asking, seeking and knocking are all active verbs. One thing I find interesting is that in verse 8, Jesus urges them (and us) to be bold and persistent.  And if we are supposed to be bold and persistent, that says to me that we have to actively work at asking and seeking.  We have to be deliberate.  You have to tell God that you want to start the process.

If we choose to sit around passively and lament the fact that we don’t understand why life is how it is, that we don’t understand why things have to be the way they are, and we don’t understand how life can be so unfair…..we shouldn’t be surprised when the answers don’t come to us.  If you don’t ask the question, why should you expect an answer?

When you do ask the questions, then you have to be open to the guidance.  You have to be paying attention and listening.  Because God is EVERYWHERE.

In my experience, God provides guidance and answers in the places that I tend to be already.  It helps if my mind is not busy with nonsense, worry, drama, etc.  Say I’m in the bookstore, and a title jumps out at me from the shelf (that’s the guidance).  I have to be receptive to the guidance, and then I have to follow through with the seeking:  I have to buy the book and read it, and work to find the lesson or the wisdom.

God will use what you already love – maybe it’s art, sports, gardening, it doesn’t matter.  He will use your friends and family as well as strangers you “happen” to meet.   Pay attention to the things people say to you, especially when it seems to come from “out of the blue.”  It’s an intuitive sense you have to get used to and develop – kind of like learning how to play a new game.  Follow your gut.  It takes practice.  Your experience with the game will be yours alone, perfectly tailored for YOU.

I love music and lyrics, and I can’t tell you how much I have “heard” through Van Morrison, Jack Johnson, ALO and others.  I “discovered” Van when my friend Chuck was playing Poetic Champions Compose at his apartment back in the late 80s.  I started listening to Jack after my brother-in-law’s Navy buddy sent him a copy of Brushfire Fairytales.  I have so many stories of synchronicities and music.  I could fill pages with lyrics that are so full of wisdom and truth, that speak to ME.  But that’s just me.

This is why I have a sneaking suspicion that God loves Google.  I mean that to be funny, but I’m serious.  What better way to seek and find random information on any question you care to ask?  Sit down and see what comes to mind.  Type it in.  What pops up?  Which result are you drawn to?  Click and read.  See what link is embedded in that one, what grabs your attention?  If you do this with the intent to listen and learn, you will be amazed at what you find.

Not only is this a fun game to play, but you get to know God better.  And, at least in my experience, one of the best parts is that God has a GREAT sense of humor.  Oh, and for the record, I think God loves Facebook, too.


3 responses to “Why God Loves Google

  1. Alyce Vollmar says:

    I can’t tell you how many times lyrics have spoken to me, and I’m absolutely convinced that God brought that particular song to me at that particular time. Interesting thought, that He uses what we love to speak to us. I love music beyond any earthly pursuit!

    • jlcmom says:

      ….which brings up something else I want to write about. I am convinced that one way you can tell an “old soul” is that they usually love music. And that’s because music is multi-dimensional. It’s one of those things that is beyond words….like art, like love, like joy. I love the metaphor of multi-dimensions, it helps me to think about the things that are beyond our understanding. Guess I need to get working on that one ! 🙂

What do you think?

