meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Almost Nothing Bothers Me

on May 9, 2012

It’s not that I don’t care.  Actually, I care a lot.  It’s just that very few things that happen are really worth getting upset about.

Problems come up, things don’t go as planned.  Getting upset does nothing but create drama.  So why get upset?  Just figure out what you can do to make it better or to prevent the same thing from happening over again.

“There are no problems, only solutions!”

And if there’s really nothing you can do about it, avoidance is sometimes the solution.

Say that someone says something to offend me.  Just because they said it, doesn’t mean it’s true.  If I know it’s not true, why do I care?  If I get offended, they have just sucked me in.  Life taught me this last summer when one person who didn’t even know me called me a racist (after a nice discussion, she became my friend), and another called me a slumlord.  If you know me, you know these are two things I care very deeply about, two accusations that would most push my buttons.  I found myself getting really upset, but then I thought, I know that these are ridiculous statements, so why do I even care?

Then there are the entire categories of people that are annoying….but only if you let them annoy you.  If there isn’t anything I can DO to change those people or those situations, there is no point in getting annoyed or ranting about them.  It might be true that they can’t see what I can see, or understand what I understand, but heck, it’s their journey, not mine.  If they want to remain in a cycle of making the same mistakes over and over, or living the same drama over and over, or having a point of view that seems crazy to me, so be it.  If it doesn’t affect me directly, I want no part of it.

“But everybody thinks

That everybody knows

About everybody else

Nobody knows

Anything about themselves

Cause they’re all worried about everybody else yea”

-Wasting Time, Jack Johnson

What I CAN do, instead of wasting time being annoyed, or offended, or upset, or feeling superior, is conduct myself in a way that promotes positive energy, compassion, and understanding.  It might not seem like I am “fighting” the negative, but fighting is what the negative wants.  It’s the only way for the negative to survive.

Because when you spend time fighting, you are really feeding energy to the thing you can’t stand.  You make it bigger than it was before.

Believe me, it’s not that I don’t want to change the world.  I am here to change the world, I just have a different strategy.  My strategy is to rise above it.  Worry about myself and the only thing I really have control over:  ME.   And then BE and DO in a way that supports positivity, compassion, love, understanding, and unity, that’s all.


4 responses to “Almost Nothing Bothers Me

  1. Aprelle Neal says:

    Amazing, life changing, thanks so much for writing this. I will read it again and share it.

  2. That is where change starts. With you/ me. One person at a time. The domino affect.

  3. I really needed to hear this today, I feel like I have fallin off the enlightened wagon,lol….xoxo

What do you think?

