meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Embracing Lessons — Scott Sonnon

on October 11, 2012

One of the most wise men I have run across is Scott Sonnon.  He knows the meaning of strife, hardship, and how it all leads to unconditional love.  He posted this today:

I am not a believer. I am convinced. I did not have faith. I was given it.

Life taught me through consistent, obvious lessons. When I resisted those lessons, the universe appeared to neglect me at best, and detest me at worst. And each time that I ignored or fled from life’s lessons, they returned, louder, stronger and more insistent. Then, I attempted something radical (for me): I embraced a lesson life offered. The discomfort of that initial embrace stung, but burned away only illness and disease, suffering and misery. What remained, grew stronger. And with that increased strength, greater confidence that the universe may not be an opponent, but my secret advocate.

So, I embraced another lesson, and another, and another. My confidence grew to belief that what would follow from every event I embraced would be positive for my growth as a person. And that belief grew into faith that even when all appeared overwhelming or scarce, desperate or flooded, everything happened for my best interest, not as a mere advocate, but with a deep, unconditional, tireless love for me. Across cultures and nations, this appears to be a universal experience regardless of the details with which it is described.

Open to the possibility. Turn, face and embrace. You may not have confidence now, but if you have the courage, just once… on the other side of that discomfort, your trust will grow that the universe secretly conspires for you as your most unconditional love.

very respectfully,
Scott Sonnon
www.facebook.com/ScottSonnon

Scott posted this earlier this week:
Let us be like
Two falling stars in the day sky.

Let no one know of our sublime beauty
As we hold hands with God

And burn

Into a sacred existence that defies –
That surpasses

Every description of ecstasy
And love.

~ Hafiz


What do you think?

