meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

The Gift I Received Today

on October 25, 2012

 

 

My friend stopped by today to bring me something.  I had no idea what it could be…..and here it is!!

While working in a building my husband and I own, he and a coworker found four of these.  One was above a dropped ceiling and the others were in a corner of the basement, covered in dirt and gunk.  We’ve owned this building for six years now, and I don’t think any of the tenants who have been there during our tenure had these.  I suspect it was the tenant that was there immediately before we bought the building.

Well, my friend knew I would be intrigued by this kind of thing, so they cleaned it up for me, and he was right!  I am intrigued and have been googling.

When I was a kid, I loved collecting rocks.  I still have a basketful of favorites I accumulated over the years.  I had a rock tumbler, and would grind and polish the good ones I found.  I still love looking at the colors and patterns.  When we would go to the Jersey shore, we would always look for Cape May diamonds.  I went through a phase where I made jewelry out of them (I must have been 10 or 12?)

Then when I went to college, I did take some Geology for my BS in Earth Science.  I have always loved looking at the formations of rocks on the road cuts on the way to State College.  Wow, it has been a long time since I’ve thought about that.  Here’s the kind of thing that I mean:

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can’t look at a rock formation like that, and not wonder what in the world could have happened to push the rocks into that kind of swirling shape.  It’s awe-some.

The most awesome geological experience I have had, however, was experiencing the Loma Prieta Earthquake in 1989, from the 18th floor of the Clorox building in Oakland, CA.  Now THAT was geology.  Amazing.  Really cool.  Didn’t scare me a bit.

So back to my copper pyramid with all the crystals.  With just a little googling, I’m concluding that my pyramid is pretty special.  The closest description I found so far that mentions a copper spiral is here.  Despite my geology classes, I’ve never been very good with identifying rocks, mostly I just know what I like.  So I will have to do a little more research.

I’d love to hear any comments anyone might have!!

 

 


4 responses to “The Gift I Received Today

  1. Hmmm, very interesting, you know copper is very grounding, I think it is very important right now as we are grounding the spiritual in the physical, we have all done this work in the ethers and now is the time to ground it. Very cool find! Oh and spiral, my teacher uses this alot, it moves between the vibrational levels, as above so below and such, the sacred geometry comes to mind. Love it : ) xoxo

  2. Mercedes says:

    Meg – I love your curiosity, your committment to learn, to connect, your willingness to risk and how you marvel at things. You seek to understand and look inside. This blog, it’s content is the perfect metaphore for who you are for me. Keep them comin!

What do you think?

