meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Who Do YOU Think You Are?

on February 28, 2013

“Tell me about yourself.”

Where to begin…..I think it is easier to start with who I am NOT:

I am NOT what you see.  Oh, it’s easy to identify me that way.  I have a distinctive body type.  I have a certain preference in the clothing I wear.  I may or may not wear makeup.  I changed my hair recently.  Probably the most authentically “me” thing I wear as much as possible is a smile.  What you see might give you some clues about what I like and what matters to me, but none of it is really ME.

I am NOT what I DO.  I could tell you about how and what I did in school.  I can tell you about my hobbies.  Contrary to popular opinion, I am not what I eat, LOL!!  I can tell you about the different jobs and volunteer work I have done.  I can tell you that I am a mom.  You might pick up some more clues about who I am, but still…..what I have DONE is not who I am.  You might learn more about me by watching how I interact with other people and in certain situations.  More clues.

I am NOT what I have.  The things around me don’t define who I am either.  It’s all just stuff.  Because of the stuff I have, you might make some assumptions about me – and they might be true and they might not be.  I am not the car I drive, or the toys I play with, or the house I live in.

I am NOT what I KNOW.  Yes, I have an active mind, and I am interested in a variety of things.  This is a reflection of who I am, but these things still don’t define me.

I am NOT my successes and I am NOT my mistakes.  Yes, I have learned from these things, but they are just experiences I have had.

I am NOT my religious affiliation or my belief system, my zodiac sign, my numerological profile, my age, my birth order, my IQ, .. .

You might know all kinds of things ABOUT me, yet still not KNOW me.

Are you getting disinterested or frustrated yet?

I struggle with how to answer this question “Who am I?” because words cannot describe to you the soul that I am, the ME that I have come to know.

The only accurate answer I can come up with is this:

I AM THAT I AM.

This process of discovering who I am NOT, is what has led me to the understanding of that statement.

Now, I get it.

To KNOW me, is to KNOW without words.  To know me is to feel me and understand me on a deeper level.  I am a soul of energy, of love and light.  I am quirky, serious and playful, and I yearn to connect and be understood.  I am ME.  I had to get to know ME first, before I could show ME to others.  Part of getting to know ME, was letting go of any remaining attachments to the superficial things that I am NOT.  So, I’ve been practicing that.   And I am extremely lucky to have other Souls that are letting me get to know THEM, as they go through their own unique process of knowing themselves in a deeper way.  It’s great fun!

So, now, let me ask, because I want to KNOW…..

Who are YOU??

question


6 responses to “Who Do YOU Think You Are?

  1. I shared this too…I put it on Twitter, I try to put new stuff up on each of my social media accounts. This was really good : ) Oh and I am the light. I am what the universe is made of. I am love.

  2. David says:

    I am everything I am not.

    Who am I not? Everything I ‘think’ I am.

    I am who I am, not who I ‘think’ I am.

    Words are so cumbersome, aren’t they?! 🙂

  3. Mercedes says:

    Meg, I just L O V E this. Period.
    M

What do you think?

