meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

An Angel in my Kitchen

on July 12, 2013

When I came downstairs this morning, I took one look at the kitchen and couldn’t believe what I saw.   Yes, I took a picture.  My dear husband (DH) was up before me, and I assumed he was the one who had cleaned up.  I said something about how nice the kitchen looked, and he was a little confused and said he thought I did it.  We were both stumped.

kitch clean

Last night we went out to eat, just the two of us, and when we got home the kitchen looked like it usually does.  We are a busy family, with three busy kids, and we use our kitchen hard.  We are pretty much always cooking, cleaning, loading and unloading the dishwasher, dropping keys and papers on the island, it just never stops.  And ask anybody that knows me, I am not a neat-freak by any stretch of the imagination.  While it seems like I am always cleaning up, my kitchen rarely looks like the picture.  Understatement.

I had put the dogs away just before 11:00, and the girls were both upstairs.  (Kid #1 was not home last night.)  I guess I fell asleep pretty fast, but usually I hear the banging of dishes being put away or other unusual activity at night.  DH is especially sensitive to nighttime noises, but he hadn’t heard anything either.

Seriously, it was like an Angel had visited my kitchen.  To provide some context, I have been on a roll lately (understatement) getting on my kids to help out, and it has seemed like my rants have fallen on deaf ears.  My kids are very good at expressing their wants and needs, but not always too good at helping out.  Although, to their credit, I do always hear how good and helpful they are when they are with other people.  It just feels like, much of the time, I am viewed as the servant-woman, and I have been very sensitive to that lately.

So, DH and I marveled at the sight of the kitchen, but soon had to move on with our day.  I couldn’t stand it any longer, so I went up to Kid #3’s room and said good morning, and asked if she had cleaned up the kitchen last night.  Answer:  “No.”

Ok, this is getting weird.  Could this have been some crazy reality shift, some miracle?

On to Kid #2.  Same question.  Answer:  “Yeah, I got all OCD.” 

BINGO!!  I found my Angel!!!

Whatever possessed her, who knows.  I’m not going to question it.

Miracles DO happen!!!

kitcounter


One response to “An Angel in my Kitchen

What do you think?

